there are spirits everywhere.

As usual during this time of year, the calendar is full to bursting with stuff going on, and there is little time for rest. With a toddler, I know these past few weeks have been a good opportunity to be out running around before it gets super cold and bundling up the baby starts to become a lengthy process.

I’ve been taking a lot more pictures now that I have a phone with a decent camera. Here’s some of what we’ve been up to:

Wagon ride, with sunglasses on.

Running wild in the empty lot down the street.

Tumblr RVA and Mobelux volunteering at the Science Museum with HandsOn Greater Richmond.

Morella enthralled with orange lights on our way home from our friend Joe’s art opening.

Sweet babes at the City Church Harvest Festival.

Swinging with her buddy David.

Family time at the Celtic Festival.

Morella found a dance partner.

Teaching Amir and Kathryn about their colors.

Stayed out all the way ’til 10pm (!!!) seeing Positive No at the Camel. Tracy said “These songs go out to Tess because they’re about starting over” and made me tear up.

Cheesin’ with her daycare friends.

Enjoying the scenery on Tumblr RVA’s segway tour.

Listening to some history — shocker!

Silent Music Revival with your host, fancy-blazer Jameson.

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari was as creepy as they come. Melanie and I enjoyed it!

There are spirits everywhere.

Pumpkin patch photo shoot with Henry and Mia.

Bedtime for babies, before the Artzes’ big anniversary date.

I feel good. Still surreal at times, but getting better. It’s been a long two and a half months. It’s hard to put some thoughts and feelings into words, which is always maddening for a writer. And some things are still in limbo, which makes it hard to start moving on in earnest. But any time I feel the pressure of that limbo, if I really think about it a little more, I know that there’s nothing I can do to force this waiting to be over any sooner. It’s up to me to just do my best in the meantime. I’m okay with that.

Advent begins on November 30th, and my church is asking for artwork around the theme of “O Come O Come Emmanuel.” I submitted a picture to accompany this verse, which seems to make more sense this year than ever before:

O come, Thou Key of David, come,
And open wide our heavenly home;
Make safe the way that leads on high,
And close the path to misery.

Leave a Reply

