this side of paradise.

I’m attending a 1920s-themed New Year’s Eve party this year.  As always, my problem is not that I can’t find inspiration, but that I’ve found TOO MUCH inspiration.  This is always happening to me.  I think it’s a good problem to have.

Probably my third most favorite thing about the 1920s is that it was a period of transition.  The main image that people have in their heads of the 1920s is that of the flapper, and that certainly existed and had a huge impact, but in reality there were tons of different styles being worn by many different people.  It’s not a flat decade of sameness, but a free, unpredictable decade of diverse looks.

My first and second most favorite things about the 1920s are, of course, F. Scott Fitzgerald and T. S. Eliot.

Below, some images I’ve been pondering.

 

3 thoughts on “this side of paradise.

Leave a Reply

