of mortgages and milestones.

I think we are doing this thing, and by that I mean buying a house.  Huzzah, etc!  We’ve been looking at houses for quite some time, but because of our limited resources and the amount of renovations that some houses need, it took a while to find a project that seemed feasible.  On our anniversary we looked at a fixer-upper in Church Hill, and made an offer by the end of October.  We’re currently under contract on the house, but waiting to make sure the loan works out before we get too excited.  If everything goes well, we’ll close at the end of December and start working on the house.

We’re chronicling our renovation here, if you’d like to follow our progress.

I have loved living in this house for the past five years, and I hate to leave Oregon Hill, but we just can’t afford to buy in this neighborhood.  If anybody is interested in taking over this amazing house though, let me know and I’ll put you in touch with the landlord.  I shall miss it!  I’ve put a lot of love into this place, and I’ve spent the best years of my life (yet!) here.  It’s been amazing to see this house go from a mediocre, 1970s-wood-paneled collection of rooms to a real, cohesive home.  Though it has its limitations (no real heat to speak of, for one thing), it has been an absolute dream.  But I’m excited to see what’s next, and, frankly, to save money in the long run by not throwing more money in the black hole of renting.

Obviously this whole house-buying thing has unleashed a torrent of planning and spreadsheet-making, but that’s not all we’ve been up to.  Here are some highlights:

The Hollowell twins' first birthday!

Baking with Mia (and her new kitchen things).

So much potato-peeling and Brunswick stew-stirring for SynerGeo.

Hangouts around several fire pits, including this one at my parents' house.

4 thoughts on “of mortgages and milestones.

  1. Yayyyyy Tesss & Dan! This is exciting news! I can’t wait to see/hear about home renovating/decorating! Congrats to the both of you, and fingers crossed!!

Leave a Reply

