of parties and purple.

The big surprise party for Hugel, which Kelsey and Virginia have been orchestrating for months, finally took place this weekend.  Was he surprised?  Heck yes.  Did Julia and I win at badminton?  Also heck yes.  It was a leisurely afternoon, spent catching up with lots of people and just enjoying a big backyard.

Later we went to Beth’s birthday costume party, dressed as song titles.  This was a great idea.  I think everybody there had a good time trying to guess which songs people had dressed up as.  I went as “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me,” which nobody got.  Come on, it’s not that obscure.  Dan went as “Cornflake Girl,” which was a bit more recognizable.  Met several new people there, talked too much, walked home with a blue Jello shooter in my hand.

I accomplished several things this weekend, the most tangible of those things being the shoe clips I made.  I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, but haven’t had two seconds to do it.  I’m really excited about the prospect of making these and selling them for Always Midnight, and I love that they’re removable and can be clipped onto most shoes, or into your hair.  Double duty!  And since I don’t have much of a shoe budget, I like that switching them out can be a way to make old, boring shoes look new.

Leave a Reply

