of cramps and carpal tunnel.

“For Tolkien, the pejorative use of ‘escapism’ was married to the false belief that current trends define Real Life – the electric street lamp, for example, is nowhere near as permanent as Lightning. But most of us know more about the lamp, because it’s more relevant to our daily existence. The fairy-tale takes us to the lightning, the ‘more permanent thing.'”

— So true and exactly why I enjoy fantasy rather than boring courtroom dramas.  From rabbitroom.com.

Today is dedicated to the Twilight-hippie-goth girl who has her mom drop her off a block away from VCU in the mornings.  While bicyling to work lost in thought, her sudden appearance on the curb always reminds me that an awkward teenager is still alive inside me, buried soundly but keeping me grounded.  I smile at her but she always purposefully ignores it.

Today is also dedicated to the numbness in my left hand, surely the first sign of my inevitable carpal tunnel syndrome.

And today is also dedicated to the cramp in my right hand from addressing invitations all day yesterday.

Now for some links…

  • Always Midnight will have a table at the Bizarre Market this Saturday!  So come out and say hi!
  • Growing more and more happy to be described as “bookish.”
  • This has always been a no-brainer, but lowered expectations lead to greater happiness.  Or as most people hear it articulated, “Expect the worst, hope for the best.”
  • I’m a sucker for these things.
  • Finally, a photo of Phineas Gage.  My favorite story from Psych 101!
  • Alice in Wonderland syndrome: scary and awesome?  If Carroll had this though, that makes his writing a little less amazing.  I prefer to believe he dreamed it all up from scratch.  Or at least from opium.
  • Some of it I really like, this wallpapered furniture.  If you put it in a plain room, that is.
  • Pie pops: the newest baking craze, and before I’ve even gotten around to trying cake pops!

5 thoughts on “of cramps and carpal tunnel.

  1. Wow, pie pops! I feel like if I started eating those, I might not be able to stop! Oh, and I couldn’t agree more with your take on the Tolkien fairy-tale ‘escapism.’ I’ll go with that any day of the week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

