of eves and easing.

I spent most of this weekend working on this dress.  It’s been mind-blowing to say the least.  Thursday I printed out all the pattern pieces and began cutting them out and taping them together correctly.  Friday I finished doing that, and cut out the fabric and sewed part of the bodice together.  I got stuck on step 1A.  I spent a long time watching online sewing videos and looking at step-by-step tutorials for the many terms I didn’t understand in the pattern instructions.  Saturday I put the rest of the dress together and pinned it to my dress form, and now I just need to attach the skirt and hem it, and put the buttons on.  Partly I feel triumphant, because I’ve never been able to make a dress from a pattern before.  It’s intimidating and complicated, and there are just so many terms and hash marks that means something, and I don’t know what they mean.  So I think I did well for my first real try at this.  There was something beautiful about spending all this time painstakingly sewing little sections, and then going “oh my gosh, this somehow became a dress.”  But on the other hand, the dress looks a little wonky, and I’m crossing my fingers that it’ll even be wearable.  I’m sure I’ll be able to figure something out to make it work.

Saturday night was an EPIC night at Empire.  That is all.

Yesterday we finally watched the Kenneth Branagh version of Hamlet, and while I enjoyed the heck out of the movie, I didn’t agree with Branagh’s portrayal of the prince.  Dan said he thinks Mr. Branagh plays every part the same, and I don’t think that’s absolutely true, but I see what he’s saying.  You shouldn’t play Benedick and Hamlet with the same exact attitude.  It doesn’t work.

Updates later, after I conquer this dress or it conquers me.

Oh, and links:

Leave a Reply

