spooky south: 4 stars

Tales of Hauntings, Strange Happenings, and Other Local Lore (Spooky) Spooky South: Tales of Hauntings, Strange Happenings, and Other Local Lore by S. E. Schlosser


My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is exactly what I look for when I look for a book of ghostly tales. There were some classics and some new ones, and all were told as if they’re the absolute truth from the mouth of a bonafide country storyteller. “Wait Til Emmett Comes” has always been one of my favorites stories, and it’s retold very well here. I also really enjoyed some of the stories about the devil himself that come from down south, because we don’t have many stories like that here. For example, I love how the story “Christmas Gift” starts: “Now the devil, he was just plumb bored one day, back when the world was a bit younger than it is today. He’d started a war, corrupted a politician, and ruined an emperor’s birthday party. But he was still feeling restless.” Amazing. I marked the best stories so that I can whip them out and read them aloud anytime someone asks for a good ghost story. Definitely check this one out!

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

