fall fairytale.

Fall in Richmond is beautiful.

Wednesday is my last day at work, and I have a new part-time job lined up and will be able to work for a non-profit as well as make an honest attempt at getting my handmade shop off the ground.  Painting the living room in gray-and-white stripes is almost done, which means we’ll be able to make a lot of progress with shuffling furniture around this weekend and getting the house back into order.

On Tuesday I had to pretend to care about politics for the five minutes it took me to stop by the Landmark Theater on my way to work, just in time to yield the same exact fruit that everybody who wastes a lot of time thinking about politics (unless they’re lobbyists or volunteers or something) can contribute: one single, solitary vote.  As per usual: Best case scenario, whomever becomes President will totally change everything and the streets across the world will be paved with iPhones and such.  Huzzah!  Worst case scenario, everything tangible in my life stays exactly the same as it always has through numerous elections, and I continue being blissfully happy and trying to affect change in my immediate surroundings.  Huzzah also!

Today I sat the Capitol and read my book for a while amongst the falling leaves and the 75-degree weather.  I took a detour on the way back, as I often do, just to walk past this very pretty house that I like to see.  But today a plaque on the house randomly caught my attention, and I noticed that it used to be William Wirt Henry‘s place — whom I had just read a paragraph about in my book.  He was a grandson and biographer of Patrick Henry, and obviously an occupant of one of my favorite houses in town.  Perhaps it was selective seeing, but I felt almost as though I had been called-out-to by this house today.  I’ve walked by it a hundred times before and never noticed that plaque.  So the eyes of Jefferson and his acquaintances follow me about from the many hallowed buildings around town where their ghosts keep watch, and occasionally they call out to me.  This might creep some people out, but I enjoy it.

5 thoughts on “fall fairytale.

  1. Hahaha. Yes, it seems like kind of a contradiction, but it’s really not. Politics are so fleeting, and such a bore to me. But he wasn’t really a politician in the modern sense of the word. He was so reluctant to take office, only ever doing it to serve his country, because he felt obligated to and because the people clamored for him. But all he truly wanted, and constantly longed for, was the simple life back at Monticello. A lot of his political views (isolationism, laissez-faire, etc.) do coincide with my own, but what really fascinates me is his character and what type of a person he was. There is so much more about TJ to pay attention to than mere politics. Get into it!

Leave a Reply

