heretics, etc.

I used to listen to Revolution Church‘s podcasts, and I was surprised the other day to see this Kenneth Cole ad featuring Jay, the pastor of that church.  Jay Bakker’s story is pretty amazing, and it’s interesting that as un-hip as faith is, a guy like him can be featured in advertisements for a major designer.  I disagree with him on several things but his compassion is compelling and seems sincere to me.  And I’m always intrigued to see what happens to fellow members of my generation who grew up in the thick of The Church.  Just wanted to mention it not as an endorsement, but to point out that at least some people are starting to think about faith for themselves and its possible relevance in their own lives, and not as it appears historically or in pop culture.  My fondest hope — and maybe it’s a long shot — is that someday, it will be seen as just as insensitive and ignorant to make fun of Christians in a crowded bar as it currently is to make fun of people of any other faith…regardless of whether they have crazy extremists who have invited this derision or not.

I’m feeling particularly thankful right now for my friends, all those great people that have been placed around me like rows of defenses on a chess board.  I’m trying to revert my focus from trying to do these tangible “good things” to just knowing when to be there for people and knowing how to show a particular person kindness at a particular moment.  I feel like it’ll be more important than some list of positive things I accomplished at the end of my life.  The questions I ask myself about people are things like “Were they kind to you; did they promote love in your life?”  I want my friends to be able to say “Absolutely!” when asked those questions about me, without even a moment’s pause.  I have a long way to go.  But if I ever say “okay I’m all done!  yay!” then you’ll know I’m truly doomed.

Links to catch up on:

  • Here’s an interesting article I came across that intersects with some of the issues that have been challenging and encouraging me lately.  We were never promised a comfortable lifestyle.  The more I think about this, the more the concept of “comfort” in a stereotypical middle-class American sense seems unnecessary to me.
  • Harrison Street has a blog now, and they post their specials there!  Thanks to Michael Otley for sending me the link.
  • Speaking of MO, he is now part of the blogging public.  Huzzah!  Another one bites the dust.
  • I haven’t been using Twitter much, but still find it useful and fun at times.  This is kind of the nail in the coffin of it ever becoming a major staple for me.  If tweets could be pushed out to me via IM, things would be great.  In my world of feeds and such, I can’t be bothered with manually checking a web site all the time.  Plain and simple.  Hopefully a third party will develop something soon.
  • Thanks to Tobacco Ave for turning one of my all-time favorite music videos into…a news story?
  • Oh, suburban grossness.  I love Take That!; sometimes this little community hits the nail on the head.

In other news, I now know what the “manic pixie dream girl” is, thanks to Phil.  This is exactly why I hated Natalie Portman’s character in Garden State.  This idea of this “oh-so-cray-zay,” “like so totally impulsive” female that’s going to come along and save you from being mediocre always makes me write off movies.  It reminds me of this conversation in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind:

Clementine: Joel, I’m not a concept. Too many guys think I’m a concept or I complete them or I’m going to make them alive, but I’m just a f***** up girl who is looking for my own peace of mind. Don’t assign me yours.
Joel: I remember that speech really well.
Clementine: I had you pegged, didn’t I?
Joel: You had the whole human race pegged.
Clementine: Probably.
Joel: I still thought you were going to save me. Even after that.

I’ve wanted to assign that value to guys before, and I know of a person or two who have sometimes expected it of me.  It seems silly, in retrospect.

I spent the entire day at the Folk Festival with my family.  I’m exhausted from being in the sun and I still have two parties to go to.  Ah well!  Seeing all my wonderful friends will make up for being tired.

2 thoughts on “heretics, etc.

  1. The article on the MPDG was really interesting–especially as I think I’m guilty as charged (except on occasion I do have to go off and cry by myself). 😉

    Such a good weekend for the Folk Festival, too–sunny and beautiful. 🙂

    -B

Leave a Reply

