folie à deux

I was just watching Marie Antoinette, and I randomly came across this bizarre thing called the “Moberly-Jourdain incident” in which two women claimed to have fallen into some sort of wormhole during a visit to the Petit Trianon.  When I stumble across things like this, I am more delighted than if I had found a hundred dollars on the ground.  I can’t decide which idea I love more: the one of these soft, incandescent ghosts appearing on the lawn one random afternoon, or the one of two suburban spinsters thinking some gaudy avant-gardes are members of Louis’ court.  It is too wonderful, either way.

Pool party last night: smashing!
Gardening and hanging out alone tonight: calming and wonderful.

Links to catch up on:

  • Good call: vintage educational charts.  The phrenology one would match my similar bust.
  • I’ve been a huge fan of the rather unaffordable John Derian for some time…and I hate to be so predictable, but Target has answered my prayers once again and will be featuring exactly what I want.  Huzzah!
  • An interesting article about more women in forensic science, due to all those crime dramas I so despise.  I can’t think of anything more odious.  At any rate, I remind my boss so much of one of them that he regularly calls me her name and completely doesn’t realize it.
  • Seriously though.  This is really important to me.  And so is this.
  • A ton of great Best Friends Day photos from Michael Otley, including some really great ones of Dan.
  • Absurd and perfect.
  • This is very Alice.
  • Good job, Daguerre.
  • Nicely put — an observation about the romantic hero, via Phil’s blog.

Flickr has some cool new slideshow features.  Unfortunately you can’t embed things into WordPress, but I can sure as heck provide a link.  Here’s a slideshow of photos that other have taken and that I have marked as favorites.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tess_marie/favorites/show/

3 thoughts on “folie à deux

  1. I love Marie Antoinette and know way too many facts about her life.

    I’ve got this pretty awesome book that talks about how she was a fashion icon of her time and how it’s influenced today as well. Pretty awesome.

  2. Yeah, I have some books about her on my to-read list. Outrageous things are always interesting to me, and she is of huge interest to me for lots of reasons. The main ones being (1) her courageous style and all of its modern interpretations inspire me, and (2) she seemed to live in a world where her comfort and luxury never touched the edge of everyone else’s misery and poverty. So she was blissfully unaware, and for example, thought that ordering “the small trees” instead of the huge ones for her garden would help the people not to be so poor. Of course she also could have been a bloodthirsty evildoer, but “that’s how I choose to remember it,” as Brandi would say. Anyway I think her plight is relevant to our current one as Americans, because even those of us who are poor (or actually worse than poor and have negative monies, like me) have a very high standard of living that would be considered lavish to the rest of the world. Another thing we both have in common is that we like to be overdressed.

  3. I think the thing about MA is that everyone forgets how truly young she was. She was married at the age of 14 and queen by 19. And like any aristocrat of that time, it wasn’t that they necessarily didn’t care about the people, they just had no idea. The lived in a their own little bubble of a world. I can totally see how your similiarity to her and the American people work. There are definitely tons of Americans who truly have no idea how bad it is in some parts of the world, even the ones who think they do still don’t know.

    The Antonia Fraser bio (the one they based the Coppola movie on) puts a much more positive light on her life than a lot of previous biographers. She debunks the “let them eat cake” comment and attributes it to some other princess hundreds of years before MA. One thing I found that I had never heard before was that she is a very much an important figure to the gay community. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

