necessary little mutiny

 

This weekend was excellent.  I guess it doesn’t really count as the weekend, but the Synergeo board meeting on Thursday night went really well, and I’m really excited to be helping out with them.

Friday night: A very nice dinner with Dan’s neighbors (delicious, authentic Korean food), scotch and sodas and a documentary about Saturday Night Live in the nineties, and then walking to Ipanema / Empire and back.  Saturday we had brunch at my parents’ and got to see my sister and her bf, who seemed very nice.  Afterwards we walked down and toured some of the Overlook Townhouses. That was a lot of fun, and most of them are very nice and spaciously laid out inside.  But the outside of your house is the first thing you see when you walk up to it, and…well, for most of these townhouses it’s lacking.  And most people know that it’s one of my chief fantasies to picture myself destroying lattice with a chainsaw.  I hate lattice.  It is ugliness personified.

Saturday afternoon we watched School of Rock and baked banana bread.  Afterwards Dan went to see Dillinger Escape Plan at Toad’s Place, and I got some stuff done around the house and hung out for a little minute with Kathryn and Alan.  When Dan got back we made a huge bowl of mix for bran muffins from his mom’s recipe.

Yesterday we breakfasted on mimosas and giant biscuits at 821, which is probably one of the most enjoyable activities in the universe. Then we baked a ton of bran muffins and watched Mutiny on the Bounty, which I have to say was boring to the max — despite Clark Gable’s lovely shaved chest, which Dan pointed out joyfully.  Luckily I was busy letter-writing, laundry-folding, and podcast-transferring so it wasn’t a wasted afternoon.  And I learned what breadfruit trees are.

After walking to church, Elephant Thai, and back, the day was over.  I wish it could always be the weekend.  There is so much to do and enjoy, and so little time.  My next weekday off is Memorial Day.  Seriously.  Too far away.

So instead of looking forward to that, I shall look forward to tonight’s tentative plans of veggie sloppy joes and an evening walk.

Leave a Reply

