oatmeally surprise

Dr. Tess was right, and Wednesday night was just the prescription necessary to throw my week back on track.

Yesterday for lunch we tried Meriwether’s, the restaurant inside the Capitol building.  It was fantastic.  That was probably the best roast beef sandwich I’ve ever had, though I don’t eat roast beef very much.  Of course the roasted red pepper crab soup stole the show.  I’d say this is one of my new favorite places to have lunch, since it’s delicious and not crowded at all.  The only drawback is having to go through a metal detector just to get in.

Last night after work, Dan made Nanaimo squares (a Canadian delicacy) and we headed over to Kenny’s holiday party.  I have to say that Kenny throws some of the best parties around.  Since it was early there was hardly anyone there, and yet there was excellent conversation, low lighting, polaroids, beer, etc.  People murdered those Nanaimo squares, and when I say “murdered” I mean they devoured them so quickly they barely had time to mumble “what the heck is this stuff?” between bites.

Last night I had a dream that a brown bear was in my house trying to get me.  I was in my room trying to keep my doors (pocket doors that don’t lock) shut, and freaking out because I couldn’t find my phone, and a little brown bear cub crawls out from under my bed.  I was like “oh THAT’S what she’s after” and threw the cub out and slammed the doors again.  Scary business.

This morning was deliciously foggy, and even though I thought I was going to hit something on the way to the gym, I enjoyed the heck out of it.

Today we had lunch at Comfort, which is always amazing.  Particularly though, I think today’s catfish was some of the most exquisite catfish I’ve ever had.  I love this town.  I am afraid of going places where you can’t get good catfish.

Tonight’s Dan’s housewarming party, and I’m really excited. Mainly it’s because Dan is such a hospitable person that he loves having people over, and hasn’t really been able to lately.  It’s amazing to see how much he lights up like a firefly whenever he’s doing something nice for someone.  Can’t wait to see that tonight as he feeds homemade macaroons to my (well, now our) amazed friends.

And after tonight, the holiday party whirlwind really begins.  See you on the other side.  Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

