pillaging, etc.

I’m currently “reading” Buccaneers and Pirates of Our Coasts by Frank Richard Stockton, which I got here. It’s very entertaining, and I’m only just now (Chapter 19) beginning to tire of hearing about pillaging. If you’re interested at all in pirates or in the general history of the Caribbean and its environs, you should check it out. Stockton talks a lot at the beginning of the book about the origins of pirating, which I found particularly interesting.I highly recommend taco night on Tuesdays at Empire. They’ll make tacos with bean instead of beef, and it’s ever so much less trashy than Tiki Bob’s. Once upon a time we were all young and tenacious enough to brave the blondeness and the stretch pants that characterize Tiki Bob’s in order to relish their 10-cent tacos, but those days are over. Now we’re willing to pay $1 for three tacos, and we’ll do it gladly as long as we don’t have to sit in booths made of fake bamboo while fending off the rising frat boy tide. Most of the time at Empire, although it’s loud and smoky, you can expect a little more civilized society. I went there last night with Talia, Talia’s friend Cassie, and Mandy. ‘Tis a group I always wish I could spend more time with, but our schedules always make that impossible. We had a good time and laughed a lot.

Afterwards I spent a therapeutic couple of hours on the couch with Maddie watching The Two Towers. Happiness is…being entertained by Gollum while you paint your nails.

I’ve got tons of CDs from Sean to review, so look for some of those to appear on Sparkplugg.com. Also, I’ve been working on revamping the Midnight Society store to include more options, including some random silly goth t-shirts. These days, everybody’s a graphic designer. I’ve found I can waste inordinate amounts of time on dafont.com.

I finally posted those Blood & Ink Fest pictures. Most of them are pretty bad, due to me being pretty lazy about taking pictures, and being a bad photographer in general. It’s okay though because I believe DJ documented the whole fest for Jamie, so it’s not like anyone’s depending on my skills for this particular event. The set does include a picture of one of the best t-shirts I’ve ever seen.

This weekend I shall journey to Blacksburg with my parents to visit my sister. I’m sure I’ll have a ton of travel time during which I’ll finish crocheting the tea cozy I’ve been working on. I’ll post pictures of course, if it doesn’t end up looking too awful.

And without further ado…

Leave a Reply

