quarantined

The sickness is mostly lifted, thank goodness. Medicine has been taken and I am almost totally recovered.

Friday night was the bake-a-thon of doom in preparation for Katie’s bridal shower. I was pretty woozy and completely out of it, so thank goodness that I had Maddie’s and Mom’s help with everything. We made most of the stuff on Friday night, and then I finished it all on Saturday morning. Here’s what was on the menu:

Cucumber sandwiches
Pimento sandwiches
Apple strudel
Mascarpone cheese and strawberry tarts
Warm fruit nests
Almond shortbread
Blueberry muffins
Pumpkin cake
Quiche

I felt pretty good on Saturday, and besides the stray attack of coughing or extreme fatigue, everything went well. The food was praised and complimented to the high heavens, Katie got some rad gifts, and everybody got even more excited for the big day, which is coming ever so swiftly.

Saturday evening I was feeling kind of tired and fuzzy, but my throat was totally better and I went to see Prabir play at Gallery5. An excellent show, complete with the “Hang On Sloopy” cover that got everyone dancing.

Yesterday I spent the entire day watching Madonna: Truth or Dare and Scrubs with Maddie. If you’ve never seen Truth or Dare, I suggest you get into it. Although it’s quite dated now (illiciting cries of “Shock me shock me shock me with that deviant behavior”), it’s still an interesting glimpse into the person Madonna envisioned herself as back in 1991.

Feeling 95% recovered, I went to the Invisible Children screening with Sean. A total tearjerker, and a great cause. Everybody knows that evil scary soldiers steal little kids to make them into more soldiers, and that’s depressing enough. But part of what was more interesting and educational for me was (1) the history of the current war, which has been going on for 20 years, and (2) the bizarre psychological effects the war is having on children, both soldiers and civilians. This lady was saying that one of the child soldiers told her that if he didn’t see blood by a certain time each day, he got a headache. I guess the since the soldiers were telling the kids that if they didn’t kill a certain number of people a day, they’d be killed themselves…so this was his brain’s way of surviving. Fascinating, heartbreaking stuff. The good thing about giving money to various African causes is that the little money you gives goes very far, so even if you don’t have much, you’re making a difference. It’s heartening to see that a few dorky guys have been able to squeeze so much positive change out of a homemade documentary.

Afterwards I went down to Cafe Gutenberg to meet up with a friend from DC whose band was playing there. It was really good to see him, and downright lovely to get a hand-delivered analog letter.  It was also good to see some of the Richmond people I ran into there as well. That place is too little and too crowded for shows, though.

Today I’m back at work and ready to trudge through this week, ending up finally at Maddie’s insane birthday weekend 2007. Yes!

Anyway, while I was quarantined…

Also, this just in: Inquisition (a very, very big deal to me as a teenager) is doing a reunion show at Alley Katz on May 18.  And I just found out about this, ten minutes ago.  Not good not good not good.  I’m having a hard time buying a ticket, so if anyone is around the fan today and wants to run to Plan 9 for me, PLEASE holler.  It is incredibly important to my 16-year-old self that I see this show.

Leave a Reply

