like a lighthouse in the sea.

For pretty much anyone who has talked to me for the past several months, you know about the one — the only! — thing in my life that was going miserably, spectacularly wrong.  I finally put in my two weeks at work yesterday, so November 12 is my last day here.  I’m overjoyed, and feel a lot of relief and excitement about the possibilities that lie ahead.  I’m going to focus on getting my Etsy shop up and running, and I can’t wait to get into crafting as a job (although I’ll be looking for other things to provide more of a steady income).  I feel like this is the right time to pursue that venture, because it’s something I’ve been wanting to do but the instability of it is scary.  90% of all new businesses fail within the first 3 years, or at least that’s what you learn at VCU School of Business.  So in the event that I fail miserably, at least it will happen before I have children counting on me for their next meal.  And at least I will have given it an honest try.  I couldn’t ask for more than that.

I can’t wait to focus more on being the joyful person I need to be and being available and an active participant in more of the lives around me.  I think this will be especially possible now that I’ve eradicated the offending lesion from my life.

Also, I’m in the middle of planning a wedding and moving Megan and Dan into the house, and Halloween is tomorrow.  So there is a lot to focus on other than work.

Here are a few links to chew on ’til the next time I blog it out:

10 thoughts on “like a lighthouse in the sea.

  1. CONGRATS!

    I did the same exact thing, my last day here is 11/7/08. Work has just been too stressful for me, and not really feeling rewarded. Im ready to do something different, and in the process ill make more money, work closer to home, and have better benefits! Im also REALLY excited to be able to focus on more personal projects as well!

    Congrats on also having the guts to make a move like that without something else lined up. I was about to do the same thing, but could never get over that thought!

    Like

  2. Happy 2 week notice! While I have bitched and moaned all year long about not working full time, it did open quite a few doors that I never thought were possible. Now is the time to take the venture you are doing on, so do it!

    !!! Stoked for you !!!

    Like

  3. Thanks guys! I’m mega happy. I’ve never quit a job without having else lined up ever before, so yes, this is scary. But this was seriously becoming an issue of health for me, and I have to keep focused on what’s important and not what’s secure and safe. Sometimes those paths divulge. Okay now find me some odd jobs to do.

    Like

  4. I was starting to have some health issues as well as causing tooo many problems b/t debs and I always being stressed out! Im sure you will find something!

    Like

  5. I’m so glad for you Tess!

    I’m helping my brother in law out at the dry cleaner business he owns, and a lot of the alterations we take in I think to myself that I could probably do or easily learn for extra cash. So my brilliant idea of the day is for you to maybe look into doing some alterations as an odd job. I’m gaining weight so I may need you to let some of my clothes out. And then when I lose the weight I can hire you to take it all in again! Either way, you’re hired.

    Like

  6. congratulations! i did the same back in july and can attest to the awesomeness of leaving and never looking back. i am hoping to get my own (graphic design & paper crafts) business started in the next several months as well, so we can trade entrepreneurial secrets along the way.

    hope this leads to 200% happiness for you, beyond your usual 150% 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment